Recent Reviews on TripAdvisor

 

"Absolutely scrumptious"

Reviewed October 10, 2016 by a Level 6 contributer from France 

Having moved into the area, we just discovered Truffles as we explored Bruton. I'm glad we did! We opted for the two course lunch menu. I chose sea bream with crushed potatoes and warm tomato salsa, my partner opted for a bowl of raclette with fresh bread. My sea bream was cooked to perfection, beautifully seasoned with a delicious crispy skin. The lemon zest in the crushed potatoes complimented the fish and the warm tomato salsa was a delicious delight! My partner wolfed down his raclette and said it was delicious. We both opted for the warm brownie with chocolate sauce and salted caramel ice cream and I have to admit that if my partner hadn't cleaned his plate, I would have eaten it as well as my own. Absolutely scrumptous! Service was warm and welcoming and friendly. A wonderful local find-we will return!

Visited October 2016

 

"Lovely"

Reviewed September 29  2016 by a Level 3 contributer from Bishop's Frome 

Great wholesome food in a small boutique type setting. The waitress was attentive and polite and the surroundings intimate. A little background music playing quietly. If you want a cosy meal with tranquility this should suit you. The food was cooked to order and my boyfriend's steak cooked to perfection. We particularly enjoyed the prawn starter!! We will happily go to Truffles again.

Visited September 2016

 

"Traditional french"

Reviewed August 31  2016 by a Level 1 contributer 

Very delicious French food, especially the liver. The wine choice was excellent and the service too was superb. The downstairs looks more French and romantic whilst the upstirs felt more formal and traditional.

Visited August 2016

 

"Delicious meal"

Reviewed August 12  2016 by a Level 6 contributer from Bournemouth

We had lunch here when the pub our friends wanted to eat at was closed. We were not disappointed, we all enjoyed the meals we chose, everything was freshly cooked. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the service was good.

Visited August 2016

 

"Locals who visit often for evening meal and occasional breakfast"

Reviewed August 2  2016 by a Level 1 contributer from Bruton

Never experienced a meal that has not been 100%. The servers are lovely and very helpful, atmosphere excellent and makes the evening special. We also book but worth taking a chance if in the area.

Visited July 2016

 

"A great little place"

Reviewed  June 24  2016 by a contributer from Sherborne

Excellent service. We booked at the last minute & were in a hurry to make it to a school concert, both the waitress and the chef could not have been more helpful! They even sent us off with some chocolate truffles as we had no time for dessert. Menu very clear, not full of fancy terms - so we knew exactly what we were ordering. We have never been here before & will definitely be back.

Visited June 2016

 

"Comforting food, holiday ambiance"

Reviewed  May 4  2016 by a Level 3 contributer

I love Truffles. I've never eaten here before despite driving past it daily. I've seen boxes of fresh produce outside on the mornings that I've driven past and this was enough to propel me in. There are sweet tables outside with candles and decent napery and a feeling that the place is well loved and looked after. We were not disappointed. It was a quick supper with beautifully freshly baked bread and a delicious coq au vin. It's a small place without pretension and it does what it looks like it should do, very well. We will be returning.

Visited May 2016

 

"Steak Night"

Reviewed February 3, 2016

Just visited Truffles at Bruton for their steak night meal deal. Staff are friendly, and the service is great. The rib eye steak was tender and tasty, salad leaves were crisp and tender, the dessert was light and flavourful, how do they do it for such a low price? Definitely 10 out of 10. If you are ever in BrutonTruffles is definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2016

 
 
 
 

Great new Chef”

Reviewed October 2, 2015

Truffles is always to be recommended, and now it continues with new Chef Carnie. A beautiful lunch of baked hake and coq au vin, with starters of wild boar terrine and dessert, remarkable value at £12.95 for 3 courses! Excellent surroundings and very friendly service. You would be daft not to visit this super little restaurant, better than the larger more advertised places in Bruton

Visited September 2015

 

“Lovely friendly place and great food, especially the ice cream!”

Reviewed September 28, 2015

Excellent place, food and staff! We had a lovely meal there and nothing was too much trouble! Will definitely be going back when we move to Somerset!

Visited September 2015

“Great food, lovely people”

Reviewed September 19, 2015

Booked a Friday night meal at Truffles while visiting Bruton for a weekend. Great food: a mix of solid traditional French brasserie fare with innovative touches. Portions are generous and beyond. A starter of scallops yielded six plump beauties, enough for a main course with it's accompanying orange caramel glaze dark and sticky and moreish. A whole plaice was cooked to perfection, just set flesh bathed in a decadent beurre noisette - great cooking. A steak had a fantastic char, there was a great selection of local icecreams and a brilliant wine list including a lovely Sicilian red and a gorgeous perfumey Muscat that we made light work of. I get the feeling the chef and fantastic wait staff are sometimes under-appreciated: it was very quiet the night we came but what a waste! If I had this neighbourhood joint on my doorstep, I'd be there every night.

·         Visited September 2015

 
 
 
Reviewed 28 October 2013 
Truffles was the absolutely perfect place to stop for Sunday lunch on my daughter's birthday after a trip to the Mulberry outlet at Shepton Mallet. If you are ever lucky enough to be near this lovely little restaurant go and visit I can thoroughly recommend the wonderful selection offered in the buffet lunch. The chef, owner and his staff are friendly and helpful the food and wine are fabulous and extremely good value and its a nice touch to have linen on the table. I found this place by googling Michelin restaurant near Shepton Mallet and it came up as another reviewer had said it was near Michelin standards and believe me it is. I have never written a review before on trip advisor but I was grateful to find this place and I'm sure others will be.
Reviewed 9 December 2013 

 

 

Having eaten at Truffles a couple of times this year I visited again on Saturday with my husband and in-laws and we were not disappointed. A creative menu with first rate ingredients. The ostrich was so tender (I pinched a bit of my husband's!), as was the fillet of Dexter beef. My trio of hare, boar and beef were lovely and so was the sauce that accompanied them. The vegetables were beautifully presented and a great mix, little portions of mash, dauphinoise potatoes, violette potatoes, tiny brussel sprouts and chevril root - and those are the ones that I can remember.

Richard and his team are putting a lot of effort into this little gem of a restaurant, producing high quality french food at a very reasonable price. The service was impeccable. I forgot to thank the chef - my apologies for the oversight - I have not had a meal as good as this in a very long time. It was a lovely way to celebrate my husband's birthday.

 

Opening Hours

 

Tuesday- Saturday  

Breakfast 9.30am-12pm 

Lunch     12pm-2pm 

Open for occasional dinners from 7pm        

Closed  

Sunday & Monday                              

Reservations

Call us on:

01749 812180

 

In order to visit us

Truffles 

95 High Street  
Bruton

SOM BA10 0AR

Facebook Button Find us on facebook
Print Print | Sitemap
© Truffles Restaurant and Bistro